you can’t go home again

You can’t go home again – Thomas Wolfe

When I got married I found it really difficult to leave home. I was so excited to start my life with Sarah, but I’d lived in the same house for my entire life. I didn’t move out for university or even go away for a whole summer. I was a huge change for me.

Some of the stuff I missed was dumb. I missed not having satellite to watch sports. I missed not having loads of food just there.

But some of it was more.

I missed not hearing dad yell down to our living room “good night boys.” I missed the comfort and routine.

I also knew that this change was important. I knew I wanted, and still want, to spend the rest of my life with Sarah. I knew we wanted to start a family and do life together. That took me leaving home.

And once I left it wasn’t the same to go back. I remember one night I had stopped at home and dad said I could stay and watch the baseball game if I wanted. I’d missed not having it at my new place so I plunked myself on the couch and started watching.

It was different.

That’s one of my honest goals for writing here. I want you to grasp what a life lived the way it was designed looks like. I want you to try it. I want you to see that there is a better way to live and you to have the tools to get there.

What I really want is for you to see that you’re suppose to live in relationship and community. It’s messy and tough and it’s easier to just stay where you are and tell yourself “I’m a good person who cares about others” than it is to be a good person who cares about others. I want to draw you past the easy.

My hope is that you’ll slowly put into practice some of these things and realize you can’t go back. You can’t go home to a comfortable life with you at the centre.

You’ll step into real relationships and build honest, open, supportive communities, brokenness and all. I hope you’ll draw others into this new life you’re finding .

My hope is you’ll embed this life of compassion so deep into your life you won’t be able to go home, and that revelation will excite you.

You know, just in case you were ever wondering why this space is here.

One thought on “you can’t go home again

Thoughts?

