the beginning

the beginning – March 4, 2011

I really like sports.

I know of lot of people like them but I really enjoy watching sports.

To be honest I think it’s all my dads doing.

See when I was younger my parents, like good parents do, made me go to bed at a reasonable hour. I needed my sleep and they made sure I got it.

Like almost every young child I wanted nothing more than to stay up later and later. I wanted to know what adults do and what it was like to be up past 9.

I can remember so clearly the day dad came to me and said ‘Philip would you like to stay up and watch football with your brother and I tonight?’

It was the beginning of something I think my wife wishes my dad never passed on. That night was my first encounter with Monday Night Football. I was hooked. And now it is about the game and about the sport but it didn’t start that way. It was about dad and being with dad and sharing something that to me was special and different. One night a week I could stay up and do something different with my dad.

As time passed I got older and dad became ill. He lost of lot of interest in sports. He didn’t watch much anymore. The speed and the motion would often make him feel ill.

But for me he would.

When I was home he would call to our basement and say ‘Philip what are you doing?’ and I’d say ‘Watching baseball/basketball/football, why?’

‘Do you want to watch it with me?’

And there it was, a time for just my dad and me. I was to young to realize how special it really was. I just thought it was neat that dad would watch something that he had lost interest in years ago for me. That he would give up his documentaries and just listen to me babel about stats and players and all kinds of things that really meant nothing to him.

But it meant something to me.

I meant something to him.

It wasn’t about the sport or the score for dad it was about me. I wish I had seen it sooner but I was young and I didn’t get it. If I had I would have cherished those times a lot more.

So what does it all mean other than I had a dad who loved me?

It means some times you’ll have to do things you don’t want to do. You’ll have to care about something that in the end you don’t really care about. It means that one day I may have to sit and watch figure skating with a daughter (I don’t have any kids of my own yet) even though I find it terrible.

Because I love them.

Sometimes love means doing things we don’t want to do. Sometimes love means being apart of things we find boring or silly.

What it means is maybe you need to put aside the things you care about and just love someone who needs it. Maybe you need to give up your time to love someone who has never been loved or it has been so long they forget what it’s like.

My dad loved me like a father should but he taught me that love is more action than word.

So love someone today.

Invest time in them by caring about what they care about even if it couldn’t matter less to you because they couldn’t matter more.

Thoughts?

