I love you and I’m here for you and do you like lasagne?

So babies take a lot of time.

I knew this, Quinn isn’t my first, but didn’t anticipate how I would react to 4 hours of sleep. I reacted by not getting these posts sorted.

But I’ve sorted it now. I hope you enjoy some of my favourites from the past.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I feel like I often talk about food here.

It’s a dinner here, lunch there and I do seam to have a lot of my meaningful experiences over coffee. I suppose there is something sharing a meal together or providing for someone meal that speaks to me. If I were to guess it’s something to do with meeting a physical need as well as some of the time the emotional need. An outward display of care and love that can sometimes be hard to articulate.

So when a good friend of mine appeared at my door one night with dinner it really meant something to me.

His wife has a mother who much like my father has spent time in the hospital. They knew from experience how meaningful it was to have food on hand. If you have to spend an extend time at a hospital you’ll quickly learn that when your home that last thing you want to do is cook.

So here he is standing in my front hall with a frozen lasagne and a caesar salad saying ‘hey I know it sucks cooking when your going back and forth to the hospital so here’s dinner for one night so you don’t need to worry about anything. No clean up just through it in the oven.’

It’s not that I wasn’t listening to what he was saying but I heard something much different than that. I heard ‘hey buddy, we love you and we know this all sucks. This doesn’t make it all better but I hope it makes one day easier. If you need us we’re here for you.’

I think we often have experiences like this. Someone does something selfless and touching to us and we think ‘wow they are amazing’ and they are. But then we seam to think that we can’t do the same. We discredited our experiences and our abilities to the point that we say ‘yeah I really appreciated it but no one would want me to do that’ or ‘I can’t be that person to someone else, I don’t know how’ when we have just experienced the template for what to do.

So today look back and reflect on your experiences. When have you been moved by a friend and what is it that they did?

Now go and do the same for someone you know who needs it. Be the one to say ‘I love you and I’m here for you and do you like lasagne?’

Thoughts?

