a small but exciting change

This week marks a small change. I hope it’s a good thing.

If you’ve ever checked out the About tab you’ll notice that one of the many ways I spend my time is as the Compassion Coordinator for the Kitchener site of the Meeting House.

My involvement with the Meeting House was one of the reasons I started writing again.

This Sunday we shared with the church that we are starting a new site wide compassion project and I wanted to invite everyone here to join us.

Every week from now until the end of the year we have a tangible compassion action that people can interject into their everyday life. The idea is to give everyone some easy points to start moving towards the life marked by compassion. They are just starting points, some of which I’ve mentioned here before.

I hope you jump in with me and do these.

Every Monday I’m going to share what the plan is for that week and then on Friday I’m going to share what my week was like. I’d love to hear if you’re trying these and what your experience was like.

Since I’m doing something different Monday and Friday my normal Monday and Friday stuff will be pushed to Tuesday and Thursday.

That’s right you’re stuck with me every day of the week now. Try to contain you obvious excitement.

So to start this all off, something super easy.

Say Hi to everyone you pass on the street his week.

I obviously stole this idea from my wife. Is that considered stealing? I gave her credit so I think I’m good.

If you don’t know what this is Sarah’s idea, check out here, here and here to find out why my wife is awesome.

So this week if you’re getting out of your car at home say hi to your neighbour.

Walking the dog, say hi to everyone who passes.

I bike home from work twice a week so I’m going to try and say hi to everyone I pass. It may be super strange but I’m going to try.

I don’t know what’s going to happen. Some of you will be drawn into conversations and relationships you never thought you would. Others might get some death stares. You may just get series of awkward smiles and Hi’s back. All of those are good.

This is about getting out into community and expanding your relationships outside of what is easy and comfortable.

Check back Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday for my regular posts and then again on Friday to hear how my week went.

I’m really excited about this. I’m excited to hear your stories. I’m excited to do this with community. I’m excited to see how this will impact my life.

I hope you’re excited too!

Thoughts?

