curators of faith

I work hard to not be busy.

At a certain level that sentence sounds ridiculous. Working to not be working, but never the less I try not to be busy. I worry the busyness will detract from people and relationships. I worry that my busyness will mean I miss opportunities be just be with people.

As a result of trying to not be busy it means there are only so many things I can or choose to do (full disclosure, watching basketball playoffs almost always makes that list).

We all do this to one extent or another. We pick and choose what we have time for. It may not be as active a choice as I’m laying it out to be, but in the end it’s a choice.

It’s a choice to watch basketball and not learn ancient Greek.

As a result of this really obvious choice I’m left with some gaps.

Gaps in skill, knowledge, ability, etc.

Like, since I can’t read ancient Greek I need someone to translate the bible for me. And since I play to many video games I also don’t really know enough about the ancient Jews culture which would give great context and understanding to the little reading of the bible I find time for.

But to really understand the depth and breadth of the bible I need context. For those stories to speak their fullest, I need some context. I need some help. I need a person to explain it to me.

More often than not I bug my brother. Years ago I was asked if I do much reading and I said “no Andrew does it for me.”

In reality, for the most of us, the vast majority of our theology is curated for us.

But how often do we think of that?

How often do we think of the information they are choosing not to curate for us?

How often do we consider that HEAPS more information is not shared with us than is?

This means something.

How carefully do you choose your curators?

Do they look like Jesus?

If you described who you see them as how many words down the list would it be before you said love?

How much do we trust a person to share with us about love, the nature of Jesus, who themselves shows little love?

The internet is great. We can connect with some many people and ideas. But how many of those ideas should we be giving space and consideration to? At what point should we be stepping back and looking at where our theology is coming from?

I suppose for me, an easy first step is to look at who does this curator say Jesus is?

I know a lot of the curators I see describe a Jesus I struggle to find in the bible. One bent on domination. One who will overcome through force. One who is more concerned with pointing out why people are horrible than speaking life, grace and hope into their lives. One that sees only their flaws and hates them for it.

One with no space for “those people.”

One whose brand of love is self-serving, self-affirming, and continues to marginalize.

One who is so much more worried about the rights of the powerful, affluent and accepted.

A Jesus that isn’t worth following.

Thoughts?

